The Journey Is The Destination

“What should I do with my life?”

We’ve all asked ourselves that one question at some point in our life whether it was just once a long time ago or frequently for several years.

Growing up we don’t give much serious thought to it. We have ideas and thoughts about what we want to be when we grow up but as little tykes we really don’t think much about what it takes to get there or whether there will be any work once you’re done the training.

Cinderella teaches us that if we have faith in our dreams then they will come true. Well, let me tell you, I had faith that I would be a princess one day and that my life would be perfect but, I’m definitely not a princess and as much as I love my life I guarantee you it isn’t perfect. I agree we should aim for our dreams, but what we often forget is that reality is a heartless witch. We don’t think about the fact that though Cinderella found her happily ever after, it wasn’t until after years and years of hard work and being treated like crap before her dreams came true.

The problem is that things don’t simply fall magically into your lap, typically they take years of work and effort before they’re achieved. Everyone nowadays wants to skip to the happily ever after (myself included) where everything is tied up neatly in a bow and we don’t have to stress because we’ve already gone through the stressful part of choosing a career.

Take all the career tests and quizzes online that you want but what it really comes down to is deciding who you are and what you would like to do and how far you’re willing to go to make that dream come true.

After all, “the journey is the destination”.

IMG_3115

Leave a Reply

